3 January 2017

Dear Dr. San

## **ISN Pioneer Award**

On behalf of the International Society of Nephrology, it is our great pleasure to inform you that you have been selected as the recipient of the 2017 ISN Pioneer Award for the Central & Eastern Europe region.

The Pioneer Awards recognise outstanding and sustained contributions to the establishment and development of nephrology in the various emerging regions of the world. Nominations were sought from the ISN Regional Boards and evaluated by the ISN Core Programs Committee. One individual was selected from each region and then ratified by the ISN Executive Committee and Council.

Dr. San, this award recognises your remarkable leadership in the initiation and growth of nephrology in your country, and in particular your achievement in establishing the first nephrology and dialysis services in the eastern part of Turkey. As clinician, researcher and educator, despite many challenging political and economic circumstances, you have continued to show the way. You have been a fine role model, innovator and leader, enabling the sustained development of nephrology in your country.

There will be no award ceremony that requires you to attend WCN 2017 in Mexico. However your name and achievements will be given special visibility throughout the World Congress - through recognition by the President at the opening ceremony, General Assembly and President's dinner, and by a poster presentation describing your achievements on the ISN Stand.

In addition we will make arrangements to present your award to you at an appropriate nephrology conference in your region during 2017.

We extend our warm congratulations to you for this well-deserved honour. Your pioneering contributions have been critical to the development of nephrology in your region and to fulfilling the ISN mission of advancing nephrology worldwide.

Yours sincerely

Adeera Levin ISN President

John Feehally ISN Programs Chair



International Society of Nephrology

## www.theisn.org

## **Global Operations**

Rue des Fabriques 1 B-1000 Brussels – Belgium Tel: +32 2 808 04 20 Fax: +32 2 808 44 54 Email: info@theisn.org

## **US** Operations

340 North Avenue 3rd Floor Cranford, NJ 07016-2496 United States of America Tel: +1 567 248 9703 Fax: +1 908 272 7101 Email: info@theisn.org

Executive Committee 2015 - 2017

President Adeera Levin Canada

Past President Giuseppe Remuzzi Italy

President-Elect David Harris Australia

Secretary General Robyn Langham Australia

Treasurer Stuart Shankland United States of America

ISN Programs Chair John Feehally United Kingdom

Members Mona Nasir Al-Rukhaimi United Arab Emirates

Kai-Uwe Eckardt Germany

Zhi-Hong Liu China

Masaomi Nangaku Japan

Executive Director Luca Segantini



Advancing Nephrology Around the World